Monday, September 15, 2014

Steam Whistle Brewing introduces "Last Spike" bottle opener

Steam Whistle Brewing is honouring Canada’s rail heritage with “The Last Spike”-inspired 10th anniversary in-case opener. It will be available in both six and twelve packs of Steam Whistle Pilsner  starting September 15.

“We wanted to do something special for our 10th year adding openers to our cases, so we went back to the brewery’s roots and explored the link to Canada’s rail history,” explained Greg Taylor, Co-founder of Steam Whistle Brewing. “The Last Spike is a symbol of unity and hard work and we cherish those values at Steam Whistle.”

Designed in the shape of a rail spike, the 2014 opener pays homage to “The Last Spike” of the Canadian Pacific Railway, driven at Craigellachie, B.C. on November 7, 1885.

For Steam Whistle, Canada’s rail story has special significance. The Brewery itself is located in the John Street Roundhouse just south of the CN Tower and Union Station. The Roundhouse opened in 1929 as a CP Rail repair facility.

“This is the tenth year we’ve included our retro openers in cases. Folks have shown us so much love and we look forward to rewarding them with this token of our appreciation,” said Cameron Heaps, fellow co-founder of the brewery. “We think we really hit the nail on the head with this one,” he joked.

Steam Whistle packages Premium Pilsner in non-twist bottles because of the superior seal that the bottle cap provides. While this non-twist bottle helps keep Steam Whistle Pilsner fresh, it might add some inconvenience to people who don't own a traditional bottle opener. To answer this need, Steam Whistle launched the free retro opener feature back in 2005 and has continued to release a new design each year. Learn more at:

Steam Whistle won the 2012 Gold Medal winner at the Canadian Brewing Awards. To learn more about the brewery,  visit
Become their fan on Facebook

This distinguished gentleman enjoys a can of Steam Whistle beer, which was not opened by their new Last Spike promotional bottle opener.

Saturday, September 13, 2014

All aboard for the Assiniboine Valley Railway's September open house and WinNtrak's display at The Forks this weekend

We had a great meeting at the Charleswood Legion last night. The place was packed with many existing members, a few visitors, and several old faces that we haven't seen for a while. It was perfect inspiration to get out and do some real railroading this weekend!

You can start by visiting the Assiniboine Valley Railway, who will be having their September open house. Hours are from 11AM to 5PM on Saturday, and from 1AM to 5PM on Sunday. Rides are $2.00 per person, but kids under three can ride for free! See for more details. They're easy to find, at 3001 Roblin Boulevard, just west of Assiniboine Park. Look for the sign by the road!

WinNtrak will be displaying their N gauge modular layout at the Forks Market on this weekend as well. They'll be displaying from 9:00AM to 9:00PM on both days. You can reach their website by clicking here:

Thursday, September 11, 2014

A visit to the Palo Verde Southern Railroad featured at Winnipeg Model Railroad Club's September meeting

The program for Friday's meeting features a special treat! Dennis Rietze, a long time member who is also the Superintendent of the NMRA's No. 1 Northern Division, will be presenting a program about his visit to the Palo Verde Southern Railroad in Mesa, Arizona.

This layout has to be seen to believed! It's considered to be one of the largest G scale layouts in the world (if no the largest). It's famous for running 100+ car lengths, it's beautifully landscaped and the engines have full sound! There's nothing like hearing a sound system from the big speaker of a scale G gauge train!

There's lots of videos featuring this amazing layout on You Tube, but if you come to the meeting, you'll get to see in on a big screen instead of on your computer!

We won't be having a formal second program this month, so if any members wish to put something together to show to the club, here is your chance - Free For All Night! Simply put 15 or so train-related or model related photos on a CD/DVD or USB stick and bring them with you and we'll show them. 

We'll also be having our monthly model display, with a draw for a gift certificate from a local hobby shop. Feel free to bring down whatever you've been working on, and you might win! It doesn't have to be completed - but you must include a short write-up describing the work you've done to date. If we get ten or more entries from ten different members, the gift certificate prize will be doubled to thirty dollars!

Of course, the canteen and the library will be open as well.

Don't forget that we have a new meeting place - The Charleswood Legion at 6003 Roblin Boulevard! We meet at 7:30PM in the Tank Room located in the basement of the hall. Please use the entrance on the west side of the building (which is wheelchair accessible). You can't miss the building - it's got a big tank in front of it!

Hope to see you all there! Be sure to bring your membership renewal forms! If you don't have one, we'll supply you with one!